Return to Headlines

MVHS JagWire Staff Recognized as Pacemaker Finalist

National Scholastic Press Association named the 2019-2020 JagWire newsmagazine staff as a Pacemaker finalist. The Pacemaker is often considered the Pulitzer Prize for high school journalism and is the top honor given to student publications by the NSPA. Sixty publications from across the country (one from England!) were recognized as finalists on Nov. 5.

The Pacemaker will be awared to 24 of these finalists at the NSPA Virtual National Convention Saturday, Nov. 20. Three schools from Kansas earned finalist honors, including Shawnee Mission East and Blue Valley Northwest. 

Seniors Hannah Chern and Tatum Elliott were editors in chief of last year's JagWire. Seniors Tanner Smith, Ben Wieland, Anna Owsley, Evan Sherman and Steven Curto and juniors Aiden Burke, Quinn Franken, Jordan Prestia and Hayden Resch were members of last year's staff as well. 

The JagWire earned Pacemakers in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

For more about the competition: NSPA 2020 Pacemaker Finalists